ADA — During the Ada Village Council’s last meeting of 2017, both Robert Carder (R) and Tim Striker (R) announced their candidacy for a seat on the Hardin County Board of Commissioners.
During the 2016 general election for the position, Carder and his opponent, Roger Crowe, were part of a unique commissioners race that began on Nov. 8, election night. Although Crowe maintained a steady lead early on, when the unofficial totals were reported, Carder took the lead and was declared the winner. Subsequently, Hardin County Board of Elections personnel discovered a number of absentee ballots that pushed Crowe back into the lead. Once all provisional ballots and absentee votes were tallied, Crowe held a two vote lead, triggering an automatic recount, a recount to which Carder waived all rights.
The two men will face off in the primary election held on May 8.
Following the prsentations of both Striker and Carder, and after meeting in executive session, Councilor Jeff Oestreich moved to hire George Schulb as a full-time officer detective with the Ada Police Department and Cory Kellum as a part-time officer, with both positions taking effect on Jan. 7. Council unanimously approved both motions.
In other business, council approved a resolution authorizing the village administrator to execute a lease agreement with Senus USA, Inc. and Sensus Spectrum, LLC.
Council also announced the results and assignments of its reorganization after its meeting on Tuesday:
Council President: Don Fleming
Finance Committee: Don Fleming, Chair; Cathy Cole and Bob Simmons
Streets Committee: Terry Keiser, Chair; Cathy Cole and Beth Fenton
Buildings & Grounds Committee: Bob Simmons, Chair; Don Fleming and Jeff Oestreich
Safety Committee: Jeff Oestreich, Chair; Beth Fenton and Terry Keiser
Personnel Committee: Cathy Cole, Chair; Don Fleming and Bob Simmons
Utilities Committee: Beth Fenton, Chair; Jeff Oestreich and Terry Keiser
Economic Development: Bob Simmons and Terry Keiser
The next regular meeting of the Ada Village Council is scheduled for Tuesday, Jan. 16, at 6:30 p.m. in the village offices.