Where were you born? Where did you grow up?
I was born in Nappanee, Indiana, Farming community in northern Indiana near Wakarusa and Nappanee, Graduated from NorthWood High School, went to Ball State University to play Baseball and completed BS degree, went to Eastern Illinois, Charleston, IL to complete MS. Ed.   Taught high school and coached Football, Baseball, and Wrestling for 5 years near Muncie, Indiana, then  completed PhD at The Ohio State University.




What brought you to this area? Or kept you here?
 I was offered a position in the Technological Studies department at Ohio Northern University when completing degree at Ohio State and have been here ever since.  I very much enjoy the small town, conservative community of Ada, and have enjoyed the interaction with others at the university and Ada schools where all four children have completed all their formal education (Ada K-12 and then their respective Bachelor and PharmD degrees at Ohio Northern).

What is your occupation?
Professor, Department of Technological Studies.  Now in my 32nd year, serving 16 years as the Department Chair.

Why do you love what you do?
This community is much like the community I grew up in:  A  small, rural, safe, community where strong work ethic and conservative values are what makes it strong.  The school and opportunities for my 4 kids to participate in multiple sports teams up through high school and college.

What is your favorite thing about this community?
 This community will come together for anyone in a time of need. I have watched the resolve displayed in tragic times and the overwhelming support people give.

What are you involved in within the community?
Over the years I have coached youth sports in Ada including T-Ball, G-Ball, Little League, Pony League, Soccer (U-8 through U-14), Basketball; have served with Ada Bulldog Athletic Boosters, Served on the Ada Schools planning and Data Team committee, and served as Deacon, Sunday School Teacher, and Board member of the Ada First Baptist Church.

What are some of your hobbies?
Spending time with family, athletics, camping, hiking, woodworking, tinkering/restoration and other DIY work, traveling around the United States and Europe, biking, and hunting.