DELPHOS — Ada had two young baseball players earn All-Northwest Conference notice in voting conducted by the league coaches Monday night at Delphos.

Sophomores Zac Swaney and Brandon Hull were recognized by the league after posting fine spring campaigns.

Swaney, a center fielder, was voted second team all-league. His season was cut short by a broken collarbone.

Before he got hurt, Swaney sparked the offense out of the leadoff spot. He batted .417 with 20 hits, 24 runs scored, 29 stolen bases and a .509 on base percentage.

Second baseman Hull was named honorable mention all-league.
Hull hit .333 with 16 hits, three doubles, eight runs, 14 RBI, 10 walks, 11 stolen bases and a .427 on base percentage.

"These two guys had very good seasons as sophomores," said Bulldog veteran head coach Jason Campbell. "This was just the tip of the iceberg as far as their abilities can take them. I can't wait to see what they do next year as juniors."

After an 8-5 start, Ada finished 8-13 overall and 1-7 in NWC play.

Paulding (8-0) upset state-ranked Lincolnview (7-1) in the regular season finale 6-4 to capture the NWC title.

Columbus Grove (6-2), Crestview (5-3), Delphos Jefferson (4-4), Spencerville (3-5), Allen East (2-6), Ada (1-7) and Bluffton (0-8) rounded out the nine-team league standings.

Lincolnview senior shortstop/pitcher Jaden Youtsey was named NWC Player of the Year. He received 193 out of a possible 200 points in the voting.

Youtsey hit .560 in eight conference games. Overall, he hit at a .544 clip with 27 RBI and 18 stolen bases this spring. Youtsey also compiled a 4-0 record and a perfect ERA of 0.00 on the mound in 2019.    

Paulding senior Westen Phlipot finished second in the balloting, with Columbus Grove senior hurler Nick Woods third.

Paulding coach Travis McGarvey was voted NWC Coach of the Year by his peers Monday. McGarvey led the Panthers to their 15th conference baseball championship with the win over Lincolnview.  

Allen East sophomore Jordan Motter was voted second team All-NWC. Mustang seniors Devin Reed and Dalton Clum, as well as sophomore Bradden Crumrine, were name honorable mention all-league.