ADA — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced its All-Academic Teams and Scholar Athletes for the 2018-19 season. Ohio Northern not only had four student-athletes honored but also garnered an All-Academic Team distinction, as well.  

Freshmen Zach Beaschler (Ada) and Andrew Cochran (Wooster) along with sophomores Joji Imatomi (Yokohama, Japan/Kamakura Gakuen) and Joshua McClure (Mount Vernon) reeled in Scholar Athlete recognition. To be considered for the honor, athletes must be a varsity letter winner, have a GPA of 3.5 or higher for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their collegiate institution for at least two semesters.

Cochran competed in a team-high 26 matches and boasted a singles record of 17-9 while going 12-9 in doubles action.

Beaschler went 13-11 in singles but was more effective in doubles matches, racking up a 16-7 record.

Imatomi only competed in six singles matches but won them all to go alongside his 3-0 record in doubles action.

McClure won all three of his singles matches and did not play as part of a doubles team.

The Polar Bears open the 2019-20 season Sept. 21 at the Oberlin Invitational.